

# THE CLASS OF TWO THOUSAND TWENTY-THREE COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES

The Eighteenth of May, Two Thousand Twenty-Three



"Not unto us, O Lord, not unto us, but unto Thy name give glory."
- Psalm 115:1a

# SENIOR CLASS OF 2023

Laura Grace Dawson\*

Samford University

Aaron James Graft Gap Year

MERCER YORK KERLIN Texas A&M University

Grayson Erick Collins Kuebler<sup>^</sup>
Samford University

BLAINE THOMAS LAW<sup>^</sup>
Baylor University

Robert Grant Mobley
Biola University

Andrew Duke Pattison<sup>+</sup>
Baylor University

Harrison Grant Rowland Samford University

Lucy Catherine Wedeberg<sup>^</sup>
Appalachian State University

Collin Jacob Weinmann<sup>+</sup> Texas A&M University

Kaitlin Anne Collins<sup>^</sup> Texas A&M University

Naomi Abigail Daniels\*
Rice University

ALLYSON PAIGE DZINA\*

Baylor University

Luke Michael Fesler\*

Clemson University

Caleb Benjamin Hook\*
Westmont College

Emerson Elliot McGee<sup>^</sup>
Hope College

Mark Charles Spangler\*
University of Texas at Austin

Kaitlin Hope Swann<sup>+</sup> *Baylor University* 

Harvey David Walz III\* Texas A&M University

WILLIAM BRADEN WEISS\* Texas A&M University

Jackson Alfonso<sup>^</sup> *Baylor University* 

Pierson Wellman Davis<sup>^</sup> University of Oklahoma

Jonathan William Kern<sup>^</sup>
Wheaton College

Simeon Divinagracia Mezger *Gap Year* 

Scarlett Elizabeth Sidley<sup>^</sup>
Samford University

Jenna Marguerite Smith<sup>+</sup>
Baylor University

LILY MOORE TAGGART\*
University of Mississippi

Lauren Lee Teetes\* Texas A&M University

BRYNN RENEE WILSON<sup>^</sup>
Texas A&M University

Colson Andrew Zak\*
Texas A&M University

Wesley Robert Anderson<sup>+</sup>
Samford University

Jake Fletcher Black<sup>^</sup>
Samford University

Reed Jackson Lee Graham<sup>^</sup> Texas A&M University

JENNA CLAIRE McCLENDON<sup>+</sup> Savannah College of Art & Design Anna Lynn Myers\*

Auburn University

WILLIAM DANIEL ORR<sup>^</sup>
University of Wyoming

Kathryn Elizabeth Peterson<sup>^</sup>
Samford University

Sydney Rose Weatherford Belmont University

Emma Gillespie Wilson<sup>^</sup>
Texas A&M University

Sophia Caroline Wright<sup>+</sup>
Samford University

Joshua Russell Barto Oklahoma State University

Molly Claire Bovenkamp\*

Samford University

Chloe Elizabeth Fox<sup>^</sup>
University of Arkansas

LILY GRACE GIBSON<sup>^</sup>
Baylor University

Edward Griffith Graham Samford University

Tyler Crawford Long Samford University

Andrew Darren Morgan\*
Biola University

Avery Ruth Prouse<sup>+</sup> Samford University

Noah Yongchun Thomason\* University of Texas at Austin

Madison James Winblood<sup>^</sup>
Biola University

## SENIOR TRIBUTE PRESENTERS

John Dawson History Department Faculty

MICHAEL GOLDEN, TH.M. Theology Department Chair

Kenny Marchetti, M.Hum., M.A., Th.M. English Department Faculty Michael Unruh, M.A. English Department Chair

Amber Whitehead, M.A. Language Department Chair

## COMMENCEMENT PROGRAMME

Prelude

PROCESSIONAL Highland Cathedral ROEVER/KORB

Pomp and Circumstance March No.1 ELGAR

Invocation Amy W. Anderson

Board of Trustees Chair

Scripture Reading Philippians 1:6-7,9-11 Lily Taggart

Senior Class President

Welcome and Recognition Robert Littlejohn, Ph.D.

Head of School

Conferring of Diplomas Robert Littlejohn, Ph.D.

Head of School

Christopher Schmidt, Ph.D. Rhetoric School Head

Hymn Lead On, O King Eternal Hymn 269

Salutatory Address Molly Bovenkamp

Conferring of Diplomas

Musical Selection Be Thou My Vision, Arr. Sorenson Covenant Singers

VALEDICTORY ADDRESS William Weiss

Conferring of Diplomas

CLOSING PRAYER Tony Long

Former Covenant Trustee and Senior Dad

School Song Non Nobis Domine Doyle

Non nobis, Domine, Domine, non nobis Domine, Sed nomini, sed nomini, Tuo da gloriam.

(PLEASE STAND)

RECESSIONAL Lift High the Cross Hymn 826

Postlude

#### **CRUCIFER**

Annabel Walker

### **MUSICIANS**

Mary Preston Organist

Don Shannon Bagpiper

KAREN CLARK DIRECTOR

#### **BANNER BEARERS**

Mimi Brown Hayden Moore WylieKate Whitehead

## **USHERS**

Georgia Anderson

LISETTE BUTLER

Peyton Ganss

Emma Howell

Hudson Jensen

Nolan Leal

Ryder McFarlane

GIGI SCULLY

Brady Shahan

WILL SPERRING

Luke Thomason

CHARLOTTE TOMPKINS

## **CLASS SHIELD BEARERS\***

CLASS OF 2027 CHLOE THOMAS
CLASS OF 2026 CHARISSE ABILOGUN
CLASS OF 2025 LUKE HARPER
CLASS OF 2024 LOGAN RICE
CLASS OF 2023 WILLIAM WEISS

#### ACADEMIC REGALIA

The symbolism of academic regalia dates back to twelfth-century Europe. Until early in the last century, the gowns were worn during classes from secondary school onward, as is still the tradition at Oxford University. Today the gowns are reserved for particular convocations and processions only. Hoods, draped over the shoulders and down the back, indicate the academic discipline, the degree-granting institution, and level of mastery an academician has attained. The mortarboard caps represent the practical wisdom and constructive applicability of the degreed achievement. The tassels represent the appropriate adornment of knowledge and understanding. They are fastened to the center of the caps and are worn in the left front quadrant until a degree is awarded and then they are shifted to the right front quadrant following commencement. The colored cords and medallions signify the wearers' membership in various honor societies.

\*The tradition of each class bearing a shield began in May 2004 when the class of 2010 presented a custom-made shield as a gift to the Grammar School upon their rise from the Grammar School into the Logic School. This tradition has since moved to the eighth grade class as they matriculate to the Rhetoric School. These shields represent a legacy of love and encouragement for the lower grades to follow.

#### **MISSION STATEMENT**

To glorify God by equipping students with the tools necessary to pursue a lifetime of learning so that they may discern, reason, and defend truth in service to our Lord, Jesus Christ.